Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Home2019 Excellence Awards

2019 Excellence Awards

2019 Excellence Award Winners
L to R: Sam Schuth, Dierdre Coleman, Jean Nierenhausen, Norm Morris, Arbor Otalora-Fadner

Excellence in Executive Leadership

Sam Schuth
For the 
past 23 years, Samuel Schuth has managed and directed the Corporation for National and Community Service (CNCS) office in Minnesota, supporting 150 AmeriCorps VISTA members and 11,000 Senior Corps volunteers each year with an annual budget of $5.6 million.

Excellence in Volunteer Program Development

Deirdre Coleman
Dierdre has worked tirelessly to develop a Master Water Stewards training program that is interesting and accessible to as many people as possible.

Mary Wiser Award for Leadership in the Field of Volunteer Resources

Jean Nierenhausen
Jean manages volunteers and interns at the Minnesota Historical Society (MNHS). She is a former MAVA Board member who was part of MAVA’s creation. Jean is known for actively reaching out to and collaborating with other volunteer administrators to create connections across the museum community, and the entire volunteer administration field.

Excellence in Volunteerism

Norm Morris
Norm began volunteering with L
ittle Brothers – Friends of the Elderly (LBFE) in the 1980s. He exemplifies the power of volunteerism and friendship to end elder loneliness.

Excellence in Emerging Leadership

Arbor Otalora-Fadner
As Volunteer Manager for CommonBond, Arbor oversees a volunteer program that engages more than 300 individual volunteers at any given time, most of which serve in an ongoing capacity as weekly academic mentors to individual youth in the Study Buddies program.

2019 MAVA Volunteer of the Year 

Terry Straub
MAVA recognized Terry Straub for his outstanding dedication and service to MAVA as a speaker, trainer and advisor on new directions in volunteer engagement.

Return to Previous Page