Skip to main content

News / Articles

Greater Minnesota Update

Julie Vreeland

We are kicking off our District Councils this month and would welcome your attendance. Our Central Council will be meeting on Wednesday, April 11, 2018. We will be meeting at Fairview Northland Medical Center - 911 Northland Drive, in Princeton, MN. The meeting will run from 10 a.m. to noon.

Our Northeast Council will be meeting on Thursday, April, 19, 2018. We will be meeting in the Humane Education Room at Animal Allies in Duluth MN. Animal Allies is located at 4006 Airport Road. The meeting will run from 10 a.m. to noon.

Please let me know if you would like more information or to RSVP for either of these exciting kick off meetings. If your organization is located in one of the Central or Northeast District counties* we would love your input and ideas. We will also work to hold these meetings in the future via teleconferencing but would like the first meetings to be in person.

We will also be holding meetings in the Southeast District in April and our other three Councils will be meeting in May. Let me know if you are interested in attending and I will follow up with meeting times and locations.

We are currently looking for District Chairs and co-chairs, and additional members, for our West Central, Northwest and Southwest Districts. If you would like to host one of these May meetings, we would enjoy working with you and your organization.

Remember to register for the Volunteer Leadership Impact Training Series set for Duluth on April 17 and 18, hosted by the Head of the Lakes United Way.

If your organization is interested in hosting a Skills-Based Training this spring let me know. These two hour training sessions are free of charge and a great way to meet other volunteer engagement managers in your area.

Please contact me about serving in any capacity on the District Councils or to host a MAVA training event with your organization.

*District Council Counties:
Northwest Counties: Kittson, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Beltrami, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk, Clearwater, Norman, Mahnomen and Hubbard
Northeast Counties: Koochiching, Itasca, Aitkin, Carlton, St. Louis, Lake and Cook
West Central Counties: Clay, Becker, Wilkin, Otter Tail, Grant, Douglas, Traverse, Stevens and Pope
Central District: Cass, Wadena, Crow Wing, Todd, Morrison, Mille Lacs, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Benton and Stearns
Southeast District: Sibley, Nicollet, LeSueur, Rice, Goodhue, Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Fillmore, Mower, Freeborn, Faribault, Martin, Watonwan, Blue Earth, Waseca, Steele, Dodge, Brown and Olmsted
Southwest District: Swift, Kandiyohi, Meeker, Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, Renville, Lyon, Redwood, Murray, Pipestone, Cottonwood, Jackson, Nobles, Big Stone, McLeod and Rock

Julie Vreeland
Greater Minnesota Program Manager